2018 JASO Calendar

6-9pm Thurs Jan 18
Shinnenkai – Montgomery Park, 2701 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR

5:30-8:40pm Tues Jan 23 – Mar 13
8-week Japanese Language Course starts – Beginners, Intermediate – 221 NW 2nd St, Portland, OR 97209

11:30am-1:30pm Weds Jan 24
Celebrating the Successes and Achievements of Women in Leadership: Inspiring Stories From Phyllis Campbell and Denise Moriguchi – The Atrium @ The Hilton downtown Portland, 921 SW 5th Ave, Portland, OR 97204

6-7:30pm Weds Jan 24 – Mar 14
8-week Japanese Language Course starts – Advanced-Intermediate – 221 NW 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97209

6-8pm Weds Mar 1
Managing in the US: A Workshop for Japanese Business People – 221 NW 2nd Ave, 3rd floor, Portland, OR 97209

9am-4pm Sat Mar 10
2nd annual Pacific Northwest Japan Bowl – Native American Center at Portland State University

11am-2pm Sun Mar 25
Sakura Sunday – Portland Japanese Garden

6-9:15pm Thu Mar 29
Umami on a Global Scale: The Expansion of Ajinomoto – The Benson Hotel, 309 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205

6-8pm Thurs Apr 5
Managing Japanese Business Relationships: A Workshop for US Business People – 221 NW 2nd Ave, 3rd floor, Portland, OR 97209

1pm-4pm Sun Apr 22
Toyama Cup – KPMG, 1100 SW 5th Ave, Portland, OR

6-8pm Thu April 26
The Past, Present & Future of Saké in Japan, the US, & the World – Mark Spencer Hotel, 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205

5:30-7pm Thu May 3rd
Women’s Leadership Networking – Mark Spencer Hotel, 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205

5:30-8:30pm Weds May 23rd
62nd Annual Dinner & AGM – Castaway, 1900 NW 18th Ave, Portland, OR 97209

6-9pm Thu Jul 12 –  Japanese Beer Garden, EcoTrust, 721 NW 9th Ave, Portland, OR

7:45am – 2pm Fri Aug 24
Annual Golf Tournament – Langdon Farms Golf Club, 24377 Airport Rd NE #1, Aurora, OR 97002

2018 Community Calendar

6pm Tues Jan 16 Contemporary Start-Up Scene in Tokyo, Hajime Kuwayama – PSU Smith Memorial Union Rooms 327/8/9. No admission fee or pre-registration.

11am-4pm Sun Jan 28 Mochitsuki – Portland State University

6pm Thu Feb 15 What it Takes to be a Global Entrepreneur: A Perspective from Japan, Mayuko Yamaura – PSU Smith Memorial Union Rooms 327/8/9. No admission fee or pre-registration.

8am Thu Mar 1st Sasakawa USA Breakfast, World Affairs Council, 1207 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97204

12 noon Thu Mar 1st Sasakawa USA, World Affairs Council, 1207 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97204

6pm Thu Mar 8 Redefining Creativity, Reinventing Advertising Agency Business – Yamato Watanabe, Dentsu Ventures – PSU Smith Memorial Union Rooms 327/8/9. No admission fee or pre-registration.

6pm Thu Apr 28 Symposium: From Kyoto to the World – Inheriting Japanese Garden Culture Keynote Lecture by Kengo Kuma – Kongo Nohgakudo, Kyoto, Japan