Toyama Cup Virtual Japanese Speech Contest

JASO and Toyama Prefecture present the 28th Annual Toyama Cup. The online Japanese speech contest will be held on Saturday, April 20th, from 4pm to 7pm. The contest is free and welcomes spectators. Applications are due Monday, April 1st.

University/College students in Oregon and SW Washington, currently studying Japanese are eligible to participate in this online Japanese Speech Contest.

Application for the participant:

Please read Toyama Cup Guidelines carefully.

2024 Event Day Schedule (this may change)

4:00-4:15 PM                   Welcome and Zoom Etiquette
4:15-4:20 PM                    Greeting from Toyama
4:20-4:25 PM                    Toyama Cup Guideline
4:25-4:55 PM*                  Level 1 Speech
5:00-5:30 PM*                   Level 2 Speech
5:30-6:10 PM                     Networking with guests from Japan
5:30-6:10 PM                     Judge’s Evaluation
6:10-6:40 PM                     Judges Commentary, Presentation of Awards                                                        
*Please note that times may vary.

Toyama Cup showcases the excellence of Japanese language programs all over Oregon, providing students in our community many local options if they choose to pursue their love of the Japanese language in higher education institutions. The Japan-America Society of Oregon continues to work to support this community of students, teachers, and programs; and equally, the sister-state relationship with Toyama that brings greater richness and opportunity to all.

2023 Virtual Toyama Cup Group Zoom Screenshot

Results and Publications

2023 Winner – Lucas Carmichael-Tanaka from Reed College Read speech here.

2022 Winner – Ada Martin from Willamette University Read speech here.

2021 Winner – Tanner Arakaki from Pacific University Read speech here.

2020 Winner – Rey Takahashi from Willamette University Read speech here.

2019 Winner – Ronan Hall from Lewis and Clark College Read about Ronan’s trip here.
2018 Winner – Jack Glenn from Willamette University Read the news article here.

2017 Winner – Natasha Milligan from Willamette University Read Natasha’s Trip Blog here.

Thank you to our Gold Sponsors:

Thank you to our Silver Sponsors:

Thank you to our Bronze Sponsors:

Thank you to our Supporters: